Posted by: dbjaquith | September 1, 2014

A New School Year Begins

The sun is setting on Summer 2014. It has been a most beautiful season!

The sun is setting on Summer 2014. It has been a most beautiful season!

Today is Labor Day which means the school year is starting. Over the summer our school library got a new floor so I returned to my classroom to discover most of the library shelving and furniture filling the art space. With the help of our amazing custodial staff, we were able to triple storage space in the art room with the leftover shelving. Our Creativity Studio is still a work-in-progress; photos of the changes will appear here soon!

Most of my paintings are small studies, 6 X 6"

Most of my paintings are small studies, 6 X 6″

Once I added a feeder, this little hummer came daily!

Once I added a feeder, this little hummer came daily to the garden.

What did I do this summer? Students always ask me about the art I make. My best art  is simply observation of nature. I can sit for great lengths of time and just watch for small changes. Clouds moving, butterflies, bees, chipmunks, and most recently, hummingbirds in my garden! I document some of these observations with photography, as shown here. Occasionally I paint in oils.

In early July I directed a graduate program at Massachusetts College of Art & Design. There were 42 teachers, plus four faculty, attending the Teaching for Artistic Behavior Institute, representing 18 states. It was a remarkable experience to collaborate with these innovative teachers whose dedication to their students is evident in the care they put into inquiry about their teaching practice.

RIP little hard drive!

RIP little hard drive!

Also in July, my hard drive crashed. Really crashed, as in, no recovery of files. Among the items lost are hundreds of photos of student artwork waiting to be uploaded to Artsonia. The difficult lesson learned is to back up files weekly! My sincere apologies to the many Franklin artists whose work goes undocumented in their Artsonia galleries. Families, if you would like to include an artwork on your child’s page, send me a jpeg and I will be happy to upload it. If you haven’t seen our Franklin School Artsonia Gallery, please visit us at: http://www.artsonia.com/schools/school.asp?id=38943

Each new school year is full of promise, excitement, and curiosity about what will emerge as the year unfolds. See you all tomorrow!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

